Installing Jabber softphone

Recently after adding my jabber client to the HQ and BR1 sites I decided to setup one for my CUCM v11 at work only to run into an error where the registration complained saying “Unable to communicate with server”.

After some digging I realised since CUCM 10.x, there is an expectation that Jabber will discover the call manager server using SRV records set in DNS. I forced a workaround however by making entries in my local host file but that caused me to go looking for a cleaner solution without having to resort to DNS.

I came across this article from this website and it seems to be a more acceptable solution without having to edit local files on ever workstation running Jabber.

http://www.uccollaborationgeek.com/cisco-jabber-without-im-and-presence/

Leave a Reply

